spin, knit, repeat

When I saw this Imperial Yarn pencil roving I knew immediately what I wanted to make with it. I have owed my husband a new hat for awhile. He loves hiking and camping, so I thought a wool cap was a great option.  He is also not a big fan of flashy colors so the nice neutral oatmeal seemed like a perfect fit.

Luckily as you may have seen in a previous post, I was successful spinning it into a more useful two-ply.

IMG_20151214_134304

Finished yarn waiting to be rolled into a ball and knit 🙂

The artist in me decided that an old art form like spinning your own yarn deserved and old pattern.  I searched around and finally found some inspiration in one of my favorite tv shows. (You may be noticing a pattern, and while I do watch tv while I knit, rest assure I also listen to NPR, and podcasts so my brain is not complete mush!)  The show TURN: Washington’s Spies  I could try to summarize it, but AMC did such a good job, I’ll just borrow theirs.

 

” Follows New York farmer, Abe Woodhull, who bands together with a group of childhood friends to form The Culper Ring, an unlikely group of spies who turn the tide in America’s fight for independence.” AMC

Anyways, in this show the lead character Abe, doesn’t go anywhere with out his trusty wool cap.

zbegk-aust-91_small2

Abe Woodhall aka Jamie Bell in his Setauket Hat, from TURN on AMC

This pattern has been named the Setauket Hat, and can be found as a free pattern on Ravelry.  It is a pretty, quick and easy knit, the pattern is well written and easy to understand even for beginners. I didn’t even realize till uploading this picture that the color is the same as the one I made, so it is actually almost and exact copy. What a copy cat I was being!

I was a little worried about the edging at first, but it flattened out a lot as I continued one.  I have to say I was pretty impressed with how well the yarn knitted. I was definitely concerned that the home spun yarn would end up knitting uneven. You can see by the stitches though that it came out fairly even.

As for the finished product…. (Sorry no picture on hubs, he is a little shy.)

wp-1474582258069.jpgwp-1474582265981.jpg

Great experience, on to the next project!

 

 

Leave a Reply

