Out with the old in with the new.

For at least a year now, I have had a defective oven.  While the gas burners have worked well enough, the oven itself has been a constant disappointment.  Whether it took 4 hours to get to temperature, never got to temperature, or decided to turn itself off in the middle of baking, it has been a real pain!  Living in Southern California grilling is not only easier most of the time, but sometimes a necessity due to the heat created by turning an oven on.  We have a lovely grill, so we were far from destitute.  Unfortunately, while dinner can be grilled, absolutely zero of my favorite baked goods can be.  As ovens are not particularly inexpensive, it had been put on the back burner as other household needs were more readily purchased.

that old thing

that old thing

Well friends, on Christmas morning all that changed!  My parents who knew well of my predicament, mostly due to constant complaining on my part, decided to get us an oven for Christmas.  A gift so generous, that after doing a happy dance, I tried to decline on the grounds that it was way more than I could accept.  (Luckily my parents are excellent at not gifting what they don’t intend to give… You know the type.)  So on January 21, we received our beautiful new oven.

beauty

My precious!

my precious

My precious!

It was just in time for Super Bowl, and definitely proved its worth as I made Seahawks inspired cinnamon rolls, cupcakes, and tortillas to go along with our slow-cooked carnitas!

So here my friends is to gratitude and yummy treats!  Thanks Daddy and Mommy for the amazing gift!  Just one more reason I love my life ❤

First post install shopping trip.

First post install shopping trip.

IMG_20150201_135834

Seahawks Cupcakes!

Seahawks Cupcakes!

Seahawks Cinnamon Rolls!

Seahawks Cinnamon Rolls!

Seahawks Cupcakes!

Seahawks Cupcakes!

Seahawks Cinnamon Rolls!

Seahawks Cinnamon Rolls!

One thought on “Out with the old in with the new.

Leave a Reply

