A grumpy wee sweater…

The gramps sweater by Emily Wessel, is one of the cutest little boy sweaters I have ever seen! Shortly after purchasing this sweater I was sent a letter from the designer letting me know that by popular demand they had updated the pattern to all sizes from newborn to adult. Yeah!!!!

As I mentioned in my early post, pattern reading is not my strong suit. While this is a well written pattern, I have definitely been challenged by it. I have knit several baby sweaters, but I have not attempted a neck-down pattern yet such as this one. I was able to get through the yoke, and the body of the sweater fairly easily. Again I had never attempted it, but the pattern was descriptive and fairly easy to follow. When it got to the sleeve it was another matter…

I started and ripped out the sleeve 6 different times before I finally figured it out. To be fair picking up stitches is one of the skills I have always struggled with, and this attempt proved to be much of the same. In the end, though the pattern didn’t call for it, I found it was easier for me to switch over to dpn’s rather than to try and pick up the stitches and continue with my round needles. I am pleased with the final effort. Though I must admit, it was quite a battle getting there. As a result, I have opted to take a little break and pick up a different knit project until I go back for sleeve number two. Sometimes it is good to take a step back and reassess. Nothing is worse than getting ahead of yourself and having to rip out an entire project! I hope to be back at it by the weekend so hopefully I will have a finished sweater to show you soon!

Yoke and base, without bottom edging.  Knitting at happy hour :)

Yoke and base, without bottom edging. Knitting at happy hour 🙂

Raglan sleeve up close and surprisingly even.

Raglan sleeve up close and surprisingly even.

Ribbing along the edging.

Ribbing along the edging.

 

There are times when it looked like this.

There are times when it looked like this.

Thankfully it now looks like this. :)

Thankfully it now looks like this. 🙂

So far so good.

So far so good.

Leave a Reply

